Donate search
Creative Washtenaw Votes Logo

August 2, 2022 Primary Candidate Survey

The results are in. Creative Washtenaw has released the survey results of candidates running for select office on the Washtenaw County August 2, 2022 primary ballot. Candidates replied and stated their views and positions on public policy and investment on the arts + creative industries.

Prior to completing their surveys, candidates were encouraged to review the reports, data and resources found on this page, Building the Case for the Arts + Creative Industries to deepen their knowledge about the Arts + Creative Industries in Washtenaw County, the State of Michigan and the U.S.A.

Creative Washtenaw is releasing all candidate responses and non-responses are published verbatim to the media and its constituents thus reaching thousands of Washtenaw County residents who value and are invested in the arts + creative industries in the area.

The candidates’ verbatim responses, as well as a list of those who did not respond by the deadline, are below.

Cities, Townships & Villages

NameCommunityCurrent or Running forDistrictPartySurvey Response
Christopher TaylorCity of Ann ArborMayorD
Cynthia HarrisonCity of Ann ArborCity CouncilWard 1D
Chris WatsonCity of Ann ArborCity CouncilWard 2DNo Response
Marc ArthurCity of Ann ArborCity CouncilWard 3DNo Response
Ayesha Ghazi EdwinCity of Ann ArborCity CouncilWard 3D
Dharma AkmonCity of Ann ArborCity CouncilWard 4D
Jenn CornellCity of Ann ArborCity CouncilWard 5D
Nicole BrownCity of YpsilantiMayorDNo Response
Anthony MorganCity of YpsilantiMayorD
Michelle (Me' Chelle) KingCity of YpsilantiCity CouncilWard 1DNo Response
Roland ToosonCity of YpsilantiCity CouncilWard 1DNo Response
Jennifer SymannsCity of YpsilantiCity CouncilWard 2DNo Response
Desirae SimmonsCity of YpsilantiCity CouncilWard 3D
Tara GuentherDexter TownshipTrusteeRNo Response
Jacqueline R. OttoNorthfield TownshipTreasurerRNo Response
Adam OlneyNorthfield TownshipTrusteeDNo Response
Rachel S. SmithNorthfield TownshipTrusteeRNo Response
Bruce ReeveSalem TownshipTreasurerRNo Response
Gary S. GreinerScio TownshipTrusteeRNo Response
Jillian Michele KerryScio TownshipTrusteeDNo Response
Patrick McLaughlinScio TownshipTrusteeDNo Response
Abby VakilianScio TownshipTrusteeD
Amanda N. NimkeSylvan TownshipClerkDNo Response
Scott E. CooperSylvan TownshipSupervisorR
Kathleen KennedySylvan TownshipSupervisorDNo Response

Washtenaw County

NamePARTYCurrent or Running forDistrictTerm ends
Jason MaciejewskiDCounty CommissionerDistrict 1No Response
Jeff RobbinsRCounty CommissionDistrict 1 No Response
Crystal LyteDCounty CommissionerDistrict 2No Response
David TrentRCounty CommissionerDistrict 2No Response
Shannon BeemanDCounty CommissionerDistrict 3
Robert GuyskyRCounty CommissionerDistrict 3No Response
Caroline L. SandersDCounty CommissionerDistrict 4No Response
Robert ZimmermanRCounty CommissionerDistrict 4No Response
Brett BirkRCounty CommissionerDistrict 5No Response
Justin D. HodgeDCounty CommissionerDistrict 5
Annie SomervilleDCounty CommissionerDistrict 6No Response
Todd VonSchulzeRCounty CommissionerDistrict 6No Contact
Andy LaBarreDCounty CommissionerDistrict 7No Response
Jonathan SmartRCounty CommissionerDistrict 7No Response
Yousef RabhiDCounty CommissionerDistrict 8No Response
Leslie ShannonRCounty CommissionerDistrict 8No Response
Stuart BerryRCounty CommissionerDistrict 9No Response
Katie ScottDCounty CommissionerDistrict 9

State of Michigan

NamePARTYCurrent or Running forDistrictTerm ends
Tudor M. DixonRMI GovernorNo Response
Gretchen WhitmerDMI GovernorNo Response
Garlin D. Gilchrist IIDMI Lieutenant GovernorNo Response
Dana NesselDMI Attorney GeneralNo Contact
Tim GoldingRMI State SenateDistrict 14No Response
Sue ShinkDMI State SenateDistrict 14
Jeff IrwinDMI State SenateDistrict 15No Response
Scott PriceRMI State SenateDistrict 15No Contact
Jason MorganDMI State RepresentativeDistrict 23
Richard L. SharlandRMI State RepresentativeDistrict 23No Contact
Dale BinieckiRMI State RepresentativeDistrict 31No Contact
Reggie MillerDMI State RepresentativeDistrict 31No Response
Martin A. ChurchRMI State RepresentativeDistrict 32No Response
Jimmie Wilson Jr.DMI State RepresentativeDistrict 32
Robert Borer IIIRMI State RepresentativeDistrict 33No Response
Felicia BrabecDMI State RepresentativeDistrict 33
Maurice ImhoffDMI State RepresentativeDistrict 46No Contact
Kathy SchmaltzRMI State RepresentativeDistrict 46No Contact
Jennifer Conlin
DMI State RepresentativeDistrict 48No Response
Jason WoolfordRMI State RepresentativeDistrict 48No Response
Tina Bednarski-LynchRMI State RepresentativeDistrict 47No Contact
Carrie RheingansDMI State RepresentativeDistrict 47

U.S. Congress

NamePartyCandidate forDistrictSurvey Results
Debbie DingellDU.S RepresentativeMI-6No Response
Hima KolanagireddyRU.S RepresentativeMI-6No Response
Whitney WilliamsRU.S RepresentativeMI-6No Response

Creative Washtenaw